



# ORDINARY MEETING OF GRIFFITH CITY COUNCIL HELD IN GRIFFITH CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON TUESDAY, 22 JUNE 2021 COMMENCING AT 7:00 PM

## **PRESENT**

The Deputy Mayor, Simon Croce in the Chair; Councillors, Glen Andreazza, Deb Longhurst, Eddy Mardon, Mike Neville, Christine Stead and Dino Zappacosta

## **STAFF**

Director Economic & Organisational Development, Shireen Donaldson, Director Utilities, Graham Gordon, Director Sustainable Development, Phil Harding, Director Infrastructure & Operations, Phil King, Director Business, Cultural & Financial Services, Max Turner and Minute Taker, Brittany Everett

## **MEDIA**

Monty Jacka, The Area News

## 1 COUNCIL PRAYER AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Meeting opened with Councillor Mike Neville reading the Council prayer and the Acknowledgement of Country.

## 2 APOLOGIES AND REQUESTS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

21/177

**RESOLVED** on the motion of Councillors Christine Stead and Mike Neville that apologies be received from Mayor John Dal Broi, General Manager Brett Stonestreet and Councillors Rina Mercuri, Anne Napoli, Doug Curran and Brian Simpson and a leave of absence granted.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Deb Longhurst Councillor Eddy Mardon Councillor Mike Neville Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 7 votes to 0.

## 3 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

21/178

**RESOLVED** on the motion of Councillors Christine Stead and Mike Neville that the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council held in Griffith City Council Chambers on 8 June 2021, having first been circulated amongst all members of Council, be confirmed.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Deb Longhurst Councillor Eddy Mardon Councillor Mike Neville Councillor Christine Stead Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 7 votes to 0.

# 4 BUSINESS ARISING

Nil

## 5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

## **Pecuniary Interests**

There were no pecuniary interests declared.

## **Significant Non-Pecuniary Interests**

There were no significant non-pecuniary interests declared.

## **Less Than Significant Non-Pecuniary Interests**

Councillors making a less than significant non-pecuniary interest declaration may stay in the meeting and participate in the debate and vote on the matter.

#### Councillor Christine Stead

CC01 - Request to Install Plaque - Yambil Street & Kooyoo Street Median

Reason – Councillor Stead has been contacted by the applicant.

## Councillor Glen Andreazza

CC01 - Request to Install Plague - Yambil Street & Kooyoo Street Median

Reason – The applicant has contacted Councillor Andreazza in regard to this clause.

#### Councillor Eddy Mardon

CL01 - DA 74/2021 - Detached Dual Occupancy Development - Two (2) Single Storey Relocatable Dwellings

Reason – Councillor Mardon has spoken to an objector about the development.

### Councillor Eddy Mardon

CC01 - Request to Install Plaque - Yambil Street & Kooyoo Street Median

Reason – Councillor Mardon has spoken to proposer of the request.

Councillor Glen Andreazza

CL01 - DA 74/2021 - Detached Dual Occupancy Development - Two (2) Single Storey Relocatable Dwellings

Reason – A member of the public has contacted Councillor Andreazza in regard to this DA.

## **6 PRESENTATIONS**

Nil

## **7** MAYORAL MINUTES

Nil

## 8 GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT

# CL01 DA 74/2021 - DETACHED DUAL OCCUPANCY DEVELOPMENT - TWO (2) SINGLE STOREY RELOCATABLE DWELLINGS

21/179

**RESOLVED** on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Christine Stead that the meeting suspend standing orders to allow Mrs Wendy Collis and Mr Paul Foley to address Council.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Deb Longhurst

Councillor Eddy Mardon Councillor Mike Neville

Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 7 votes to 0.

21/180

**RESOLVED** on the motion of Councillors Dino Zappacosta and Glen Andreazza that the meeting resume standing orders.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Simon Croce

Councillor Deb Longhurst

Councillor Eddy Mardon

Councillor Mike Neville

Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 7 votes to 0.

21/181

## **RESOLVED** on the motion of Councillor Dino Zappacosta that:

- (a) The matter be laid on the table.
- (b) A further report be prepared for Council.

In accordance with the Local Government Action (section 375A - Recording of voting on planning matters) Council must record the Councillor's vote in relation to the matter.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Deb Longhurst Councillor Eddy Mardon Councillor Mike Neville Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 7 votes to 0.

# CL02 DRAFT PLAN OF MANAGEMENT - THARBOGANG WETLANDS - CROWN RESERVE 1002928

21/182

**RESOLVED** on the motion of Councillors Mike Neville and Dino Zappacosta that:

- (a) Council refer the draft Plan of Management for Tharbogang Wetlands (Crown Reserve 1002928) to the Minister administering the Crown Land Management Act 2016 for approval.
- (b) Upon approval of the Minister administering the Crown Land Management Act 2016 Council amends the draft Plan of Management for Tharbogang Wetlands if required, and place it on public exhibition as per Section 38 of the Local Government Act 1993.
- (c) Council confirm it has considered Native Title Managers advice in relation to the Plan of Management for Tharbogang Wetlands.
- (d) A report be presented to Council to adopt the final Plan of Management for Tharbogang Wetlands on completion of the exhibition period and to consider all submissions.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza
Councillor Simon Croce
Councillor Deb Longhurst
Councillor Eddy Mardon
Councillor Mike Neville
Councillor Christine Stead
Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 7 votes to 0.